Praise and Accolades for the Orphan X Series

Instant #1 International Bestseller • USA TODAY Bestseller • Washington Post Bestseller • Publishers Weekly Bestseller • Sunday Times Top 10 Bestseller • #1 Amazon Bestseller • American Library Association Thriller of the Year • Amazon Best Books of the Year • Crimson Scribe Award Winner • Best Spy Thriller • SCIBA Best Mystery Finalist

HELLBENT

 

“This is a great novel…Do not miss this one.” 
— Booklist

THE NOWHERE MAN

INSTANT INTERNATIONAL #1 BESTSELLER

  • USA TODAY Bestseller
  • #1 Sunday Times Hardcover Bestseller
  • #1 New Zealand Bestseller
  • Australia Top Ten Bestseller
  • Audible Bestseller
  • iBooks Bestseller

“A most interesting series for readers who like spooks, ultra-James Bond adventures, exciting action and suspense…another thriller that will keep you up after midnight, with more to come.”
— Lincoln Journal Star

“Evan Smoak, the anti-hero from last year’s “Orphan X,” returns in an even more intense and harrowing thriller.”
–Associated Press

“Will keep readers on the edge of their seats… Hurwitz’s engaging, sympathetic characters place this thriller above the pack.”
–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A brilliant sequel. As good as Orphan X was, this is an even better novel, mostly because of its more claustrophobic setting, its captivating villain, and the way the author keeps ratcheting up the danger, including one really clever twist near the end of the book. Where there’s Smoak, there’s fire—and plenty of it.”
–Booklist, starred review

“The Nowhere Man is a good ride down a toboggan run of nonstop action and intrigue.”
–The New York Journal of Books

“High-energy and hairy-chested…Thriller fans craving action and violence will enjoy this one.”
–Kirkus Reviews

“Hurwitz is a master — one of the very few — of the unexpected. The array of knowledge and talents that comprise his skill set is fully on display here, all but guaranteeing a long and successful history for this series and its primary character.”
–BookReporter

“Hurwitz continues a superbly exciting new series with the gripping The Nowhere Man.”
–Mystery Scene

“Superb on all levels and a must-read for all thriller fans.”
–Providence Journal

“The Nowhere Man is the even-better sequel to Orphan X. This new one is a masterpiece, one of the best thrillers you’re likely to read this year.”
–The Chronicle Herald

“Hurwitz is swinging in a field of heavyweights here (think Robert Ludlum and Lee Child), but if he keeps this up, he may very well knock them all out.”
— Oklahoma Book Review

“The first great thriller of the year.”
— Lisa Gardner

“You won’t be able to put it down.”
— Lee Child

“It takes off like a missile and never slows down.”
— David Baldacci

ORPHAN X

INSTANT INTERNATIONAL #1 BESTSELLER

  • USA TODAY Bestseller
  • Washington Post Bestseller
  • Publishers Weekly Bestseller
  • Sunday Times Top 10
  • #1 Amazon Bestseller
  • iBooks Bestseller
  • Australia Top 10 Bestseller
  • New Zealand #1 Bestseller
  • Amazon Best Book of January 2016
  • iBooks Best Book of January 2016
  • Indie Next Pick
  • RUSA / ALA Thriller of the Year
  • Fresh Fiction Fresh Pick
  • Shelf Awareness Starred Review
  • Amazon Best Books of the Year So Far 2016: Mystery/Thriller
  • Amazon Best Books of the Year So Far 2016: Audiobooks
  • Boston Globe Summer Reading Pick 2016
  • iBooks Best Books of the Year So Far 2016
  • SCIBA Best Mystery Finalist
  • The Times Page-Turner of the Season
  • Amazon Best Books of 2016
  • Audible Best Books of 2016 Finalist
  • Crimson Scribe Award Winner
  • South Florida Sentinel Best of 2016
  • The Real Book Spy’s Best Start of a New Series 2016, Best Spy Thriller 2016

“Put Jack Reacher and Jason Bourne into a blender. Add one drop of nitro-glycerine and three of sulphuric acid. Switch on, and don’t be surprised if the lid blows off. You’ve just mixed your first Orphan X.”
— Richard and Judy Book Club Pick

“This isn’t simply Hurwitz’s ‘best thriller yet’ or ‘a terrific new thriller’—ORPHAN X is an order-of-magnitude leap into stardom. It’s the most exciting thriller I’ve read since THE BOURNE IDENTITY. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak, and the deadly, secret world of the Orphan Program. A new thriller superstar is born!”
–Robert Crais

“Gregg Hurwitz is known for his superlative research, mind-bending plots and larger-than-life characters. Well, in Orphan X he has outdone himself in all three areas. From the explosive opening where a boy begins his dramatic transformation, this story blows the doors off most thrillers I’ve read and catapults the readers on a cat-and-mouse that feels like a missile launch. Brilliantly conceived and plotted, his character Evan, of Orphan X fame, deserves his own niche in the thriller hero hall of fame. Read this book. And read all of Gregg Hurwitz’s works. You will thank me later.”
— David Baldacci

“Gregg Hurwitz’s Orphan X is his best yet—a real celebration of all the strengths he brings to a thriller.”
–Lee Child

“Exciting and mind blowing! A perfect mix of Jason Bourne and Jack Reacher, ex operative Evan Smoak turns on the action and shows off all the right moves as he sets out to help the downtrodden, and perhaps save his own humanity along the way.”
–Lisa Gardner

“ORPHAN X is the most gripping, high-octane thriller I’ve read in a long, long time. Hang onto your seat because Gregg Hurwitz will take you on a dizzying ride you’ll not soon forget!”
— Tess Gerritsen, NYT bestselling author of DIE AGAIN

“ORPHAN X is the most exciting new series character since Jack Reacher. And Reacher would love this guy. A page-turning masterpiece of suspense enriched by compassion and insight.”
–Jonathan Kellerman

“What is ORPHAN X? A thrill-a-minute read with twists and turns galore. I’m looking forward to Evan Smoak’s next adventure.”
— Phillip Margolin, New York Times bestselling author of WOMAN WITH A GUN

“Everyone has a book that breaks them out, steps up the game, changes things. For Gregg Hurwitz, it’s Orphan X. Do yourself a favor and read it.”
— Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of THE 14TH COLONY

“Orphan X is not good, Orphan X is great. Whatever you like best in a thriller – action, plot, character, suspense – Orphan X has it.”
— Simon Toyne, Bestselling author of THE SEARCHER

“Orphan X proves once again what I’ve been saying for years: Gregg Hurwitz is one of the world’s best storytellers.  And now, with Evan Smoak, he’s created one of the most ingenious series characters in modern fiction.  Smoak deserves to stand in that unique pantheon of iconic heroes: Bond, Bourne, and Batman.”
— Chris Mooney, Bestselling author of FEAR THE DARK

“Hurwitz knows how to grab an audience… a thriller giant.”
— Los Angeles Times

“Excellent entertainment…Orphan X is a smart, stylish, state-of-the-art thriller. It’s also the start of a series, one that might give Lee Child’s Jack Reacher books a run for their money.”
— Washington Post

“Outstanding start of a new series featuring an uncommon man with unique and obsessive skills.”
— Fresh Fiction

“Hurwitz has created a thriller masterpiece with Orphan X.”
— Mystery Tribune

“Hurwitz spins a web of relentless intrigue with bursts of tensely sketched violence.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A hi-tech, nonstop thriller. Hurwitz, known for this kind of adrenaline-inducing fiction adds enough humanity to the action to make this a standout, and readers should get in at the start.”
— Booklist, starred review

“Galvanizing and suspenseful…Hurwitz peels back the layers of Evan’s psyche, developing a character with the potential to be the next Jason Bourne or Jack Reacher.”
— Amazon Best Book of January 2016

“Hurwitz melds nonstop action and high-tech gadgetry with an acute character study in this excellent series opener…Evan is an electrifying character.”
— Publishers Weekly, starred review

“4 Stars”
— RT Book Review

“One of the great set ups for a suspense novel is the premise of an off-the-books loner, a modern day Robin Hood, who battles injustice anonymously. John D. MacDonald’s Travis Magee is one. Andrew Vachss’ Burke is another. Lee Child’s Jack Reacher is a third. Add to this elite group, Evan Smoak, the ‘Nowhere Man.'”
— BookPage

“Gregg Hurwitz delivers a masterpiece of suspense and thrills…(an) amazing start to a new series.”
— Associated Press

“We barely have made a dent in the new year, and already we have a candidate for one of the best books of 2016.”
–Book Reporter

“This is a thriller par excellence, satisfying and superb in every way.”
–Providence Journal

“An exciting story that seems set up for many more chapters to come.”
–St. Louis Post Dispatch

“Hurwitz is a veteran at writing this expert brand of thriller, the kind where the personal relationships remain human but the action is other-worldly.”
–Toronto Star

“Evan is a marvelously complex character.”
–Examiner, 5 stars

“It is nearly impossible to stop reading this book once one has started…If you haven’t been persuaded by this description all you need is to pick up the book and read the first page.”
— Sunday Star Times

“Hurwitz, as good a pure action writer as we have,… has just elevated his already A-list game. Readers of both Bourne and Reacher need only to hear that Smoak isn’t scared of either of them..”
–Shawangunk Journal

“Fans of white-hot action books should grab Orphan X. Save this one for an eat-and-read weekend. You won’t put it down.”
— Globe and Mail

“It’s tense, violent and has more pace than a cheetah in a Jag at a fast-food drive through…Evan is up against the likes of Jack Reacher on the bookshelves. Tough opposition, but then he’s a tough guy. Let battle commence.”
— Sun

“There is a pristine classicism to Gregg Hurwitz’s Orphan X…tight and tense in all the right places…weapons-grade thriller-writing from a modern master.”
— The Guardian

“The page-turner of the season is Orphan X by Gregg Hurwitz. Throw Jason Bourne in a bowl, fold in some Jack Reacher, add a hint of Rambo, stir vigorously and you get the idea.”
— The Times